poem

Is There Any Truth in Beauty?

 


 

 
 
 
 
 
 Is there any truth in Beauty?
What of the lies beauty tells thee?

Could my beauty not be as worthy
As I make thy Beauty part of me?

Such is Beauty as to make one's sight loud.
This beauty that veils our sense in a shroud.

beauty: that which deters seeing the person.
Does Beauty not conceal what is and isn't?

Yet merciless time holds beauty as a hostage,
Defiles Beauty and scars it with lasting ravage.

Thus the years that pass send Beauty to its resting-place
For vain beauty will yield, to woefully fall from grace.

If beauty should ever lament on age's cruelty,
Let not Beauty forget how little it has wept for me.

poem

MY THOUGHTS ON PEN

 Wherever you go, people don’t always talk and think like you
Through the years I’ve tried to see the good in every man
But ended up cynical about life, love and misery.


Life is what we make it
If we don’t do a thing, what are we then?
We live, we love, we get hurt, we die.


Just as all cycles do, we wake up the next day
To live and love again, to get hurt and die bitter
Happiness and hurt, both are things of the past by then.

شعر از ویلیام آندرسون الیس

Farewell, dear, young friends
       though parting is painful
A sad separation approaches at last
Revilers may spurn me
       lost friends may chide me
Even then with much pleasure
       I’ll think on the past
When rivers divide us and
       hills rise between us
Even then I’ll remember
       your childhood bright days
Let not sad reflections
       a moment beguile you
Look forward with hope on
       future’s bright